In 40 min, explore the streets of Epernay and discover its monuments.

Download the circuit:  

 

 

 

THE MAJESTIC AVENUE DE CHAMPAGNE

Home to the great wine production and trading houses, famous all over the world, the Avenue de Champagne boasts many opulent 19th-century buildings, in the Renaissance and classical style, and in 1994 was listed among the 100 Remarkable Sites of Taste in France. With a total of over 100 kilometres of galleries dug into the chalk, which contain millions of bottles of gradually maturing Champagne, the big cellars welcome many visitors every day.

 

 

 


THE HOTEL DE VILLE [CITY HALL] (1)

7 bis Avenue de Champagne

Built in 1858 and bequeathed to the city in 1919, Monsieur AUBAN-MOET’s historic mansion retains the charms of a private residence in the middle of a magnificent park. Inside, the luxurious reception rooms, in particular the Wedding Room (Salle des Mariages) and the Council Room (Salle du Conseil), are worthy of visitors’ attention. In front of the façade, a patio has been ingeniously used to buttress the War Memorial (Monument aux Morts), the work of architect M. GIRAUD and Rome Prize winner M.J. DECHIN. The Hôtel de Ville stands in a magnificent park designed by the Bühler brothers, creators of the Parc de la Tête d’Or in Lyon.     

 

 


 

THE ORANGERIE [ORANGERY] (2)

9 Avenue de Champagne

The Jardin de l’Orangerie (Orangery Garden) of Etablissements MOET ET CHANDON was designed during the First French Empire (1807) by the Lorrain painter Isabey. The name finds its origins in the fact that the building reflected in the pond of the Jardin Français (French formal garden) provides shelter for the orange trees of the Maison CHANDON MOET gardens during the winter. It is visible from the Avenue but not open to the public. 

 


 

THE CHATEAU-PERRIER (3)

13 Avenue de Champagne

Mr Charles Perrier’s mansion was built from stone in the Louis XIII style and its courtyard features Le Veneur (1890-1900), a cast iron equestrian statue. In 1940, the building was used by the British armies as HQ, and it subsequently became the HQ of the German armies from 1942 to 1944. After it was liberated by Patton, the Americans took the building over.

 

 


THE THÉÂTRE GABRIELLE DORZIAT [GABRIELLE DORZIAT THEATRE] (4)

Place Mendès France

One of the few Italian-style theatres whose original machinery has remained intact. It was inaugurated in 1902. On the façade pediment is an allegorical group by the local sculptor Joseph ASCOLI: vines inspiring the theatrical art. The comfortable, tastefully decorated auditorium has capacity for 600 spectators. The coffered ceiling, the work of Sarah Bernhardt’s friend Maître CLAIRIN, is simply majestic. The elegant lobby owes its undeniable artistic cachet to COURTOIS dit BONNENCONTRE’s painted celling. He was inspired by the Vines and Champagne to produce “allegorical nudes” and “garlands of flowers, fruits and cherubs” to great effect. The celling was renovated in 1989. On 30 November 1987, the Théâtre Municipal d’Epernay (Epernay Municipal Theatre) changed its name to Théâtre Gabrielle DORZIAT, after a film and theatre actress born in Epernay on 25 January 1880. She died in Biarritz on 30 November 1979.

 


THE EGLISE NOTRE-DAME [CHURCH OF OUR LADY] (5)

The building of the church started in 1898 and was completed in 1917. It was partially destroyed during the 1918 bombings and refurbished in 1924. Its late 12th-century style was inspired by the churches of Orbais (Marne) and Braisne (Aisne). The Latin cross-shaped building features a five-bay choir with polygonal apse, side aisles and circular chapels, salient transepts, and six nave bays flanked with narrow side aisles. The tower is 80m high, including spire and cross. The church tower features a 15th-century bell (a 1491 bourdon bell), which was originally found in the old SAINT-MARTIN church. Inside, superb 16th-century stained glass windows, also from the old Saint-Martin conventual church, tell the story of the Virgin Mary’s life, as well as a great organ which once belonged to famous organist CAVAILLE COLL. The sacred art space contains precious liturgical vestments, 15th and 16th-century statues, as well as a 15th-century tombstone adorned with a cameo of Marguerite de Chateauvillain, the Abbess of Argensolles, a convent in the Epernay region. 
Open Monday to Friday from 8 am to 7 pm and Saturdays and Sundays from 8 am to 6 pm.
 

 

 


 

THE SYNAGOGUE (6)

Boulevard de la Motte

Built in 1880, with Byzantine-style ornaments on the façade, and a remarkable rose window which contains a star of David.

 


 

THE MAISON LOUISE DE SAVOIE [LOUISE DE SAVOIE’S HOUSE] (7)

7 rue du Docteur Verron

A prime example of Renaissance art can be found in the schoolyard on Rue du Docteur Verron: a portal, which once adorned a former civilian building identified as the house of the Regent Louise of Savoy (probably built c. 1540). Unfortunately the frieze is in poor condition but it is still worth a look.

 


 

THE PORTAIL SAINT-MARTIN [SAINT MARTIN’S PORTAL] (8)

Place Hugues Plomb

A remainder of the old Notre-Dame Church and one of the oldest monuments in Epernay. It boasts magnificent stone garlands of cupids, Hercules and various animals, amongst which salamanders indisputably link this gracious portal to Francis I of France (started in 1540).

 


 

MAISON DE LA LUNE [MOON HOUSE] (9)

At the corner of Rue Gallice and Place de l’Europe

The Moon House, built in 1896, is typical of the Art Nouveau style. This early 20th-century art form is characterised here by the round shape of the window, the crescent-shaped lintels, the carved stone balconies and the frieze beneath the cornice.   

 

 

 


 

The Eglise Saint-Pierre Saint-Paul [Church of St Peter and St Paul]

Square Raoul Chandon

Inspired by the Romano-Byzantine style, it was built thanks to the CHANDON DE BRIAILLES family and inaugurated in 1897. It has the shape of a Latin cross and its stained glass windows depict the life of some of Champagne’s patron saints.   

 

 


The Jardin de la Société d'Horticulture et de Viticulture [The Horticultural and Viticultural Society Gardens]

Entrance through the Rue Frédéric Plomb

The Jardin d’Horticulture (Horticultural Garden) was designed in the early 1910s by the Reims landscape gardener Jean-Baptiste Thomereau. There, you can admire one of the most beautiful Faux de Verzy (dwarf trees) in the city. 

 

 

 

 


 

The Eglise Saint-Vincent des Vignes Blanches [Church of St Vincent of the White Vines] (Avenue de Franche Comté)

Modern Style


 The Chapelle de l’Hôpital [Hospital Chapel]

Built from 1890 to 1893 in a flamboyant neo-gothic style thanks to the generosity of Mr AUBAN-MOET.